banner ad

NECTA Grading System In Tanzania (Primary, O-level, Advanced Level)

Filed in NECTA TIPS by on June 14, 2023 0 Comments

NECTA Grading System In Tanzania 2023/2024 (Primary, O-level, Advanced Level)

The education system in Tanzania is governed by the National Examinations Council of Tanzania (NECTA), which oversees the administration of national examinations for primary, secondary, and Advanced-secondary education.

The National Examination Council of Tanzania (NECTA) is an important part of Tanzania’s education system. It is in charge of administering exams and giving results for primary, secondary, and teacher education levels. In Tanzania, the NECTA results and grading system give vital insights into students’ performance and serve as a benchmark for their educational advancement. In this post, we will look at the NECTA grading system, how outcomes are evaluated, and the importance of these exams.

Understanding NECTA: An Overview

NECTA was created back in 1973, and it’s a pretty big deal in Tanzania. It’s a government agency that makes sure all the exams are taken care of properly. They’re responsible for exams like the PSLE, CSEE, and ACSEE. Basically, they make sure students are learning what they need to at different levels of their education.

For more detailed information about National Examination Council of Tanzania (NECTA) you can check our previous article titled Overview Of National Examination Council Of Tanzania (NECTA) which covered more on how NECTA operate in Tanzania.

NECTA Grading System In Tanzania (Primary, O-level, Advanced Level)

The NECTA Grading System | Primary, O-Level & A- level grading system in Tanzania

The education grading system is a process of evaluating and assessing the performance of students in academic activities. It involves assigning a specific grade or score based on their achievements, providing a consistent and uniform way to measure and communicate their level of knowledge, understanding, and skills.

The grading system is important because it provides valuable feedback to students, parents, and educational institutions about the students’ progress and areas that require improvement. It also helps in comparing and benchmarking students’ performance against set standards, facilitating university admissions and scholarship opportunities. Additionally, the grading system creates a sense of competition and motivation among students, encouraging them to strive for academic excellence.

The NECTA grading system is designed to provide a standardized evaluation of students’ performance. Let’s explore the grading systems for primary school, secondary school (O-level), and Advanced level education examinations.

Secondary School Education Grading System

In secondary school, the NECTA grading system consists of five divisions, namely Division I, Division II, Division III, Division IV & Division Zero. Division I represents the highest level of performance, while Division zero indicates the lowest. The grading system takes into account various factors, including the overall score, subject scores, and the distribution of scores across different subjects.

The evaluation of the results for the form two, form four and the Fourth six examinations takes into account various factors such as the levels of marks a students score in the exam, achievement grades, and the utilization of continuous marks (CA) in the following manner as shown on the table below:

NECTA Grading System For Form Two & Form Four

Grade Score Grade Point Remarks
A 75-100 1 Excellent
B 65-74 2 Very Good
C 45-64 3 Good
D 30-44 4 Satisfactory
F 0-29 5 Fail

NECTA Grading System For Form Six

Grade Score Grade Point Remarks
A 80-100 1 Excelent
B 70-79 2 Very Good
C 60-69 3 Good
D 50.59 4 Average
E 40-49 5 Satisfactory
S 35-39 6 Subsidiary
F 0-34 7 Fail

Passing Grades Marks

Grades will be in the Total Point Grading System or Division. A candidate who has completed at least 7 subjects for the second and fourth forms and at least three special subjects (combination) for the sixth form will be awarded Grade I, II, III or IV according to the spectrum of total marks (points) as follows:

Grade Score Grade Point Remarks
I 7-17 3-9 Excellent
II 18-21 10-12 Very Good
III 22-25 13-17 Good
IV 26-33 18-19 Satisfactory
0 34-35 20-21 Fail

About the Author ()

🌍✍️ Hey there! I'm Desamparata, your go-to education guru at 🎓💡 With a Bachelor of Science with Education from DUCE, I'm here to rock your world with top-notch education articles base in Tanzania📚🌟. Let's decode the secrets of Tanzania's education system together! 🗝️

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *